My Creative Self.

My-Creative-Self

For our Current Issues module in Dundalk Institute of Technology we had to create a piece of work that reflected what we saw as our creative selves. Having worked for over twenty seven years as a fitter-turner I wanted to include that aspect of my creative self but also to bridge the gap between that kind of practical creativity and the more artistic creativity that I have for many years sought to find an outlet for. Over the past few years my work as a student of Creative Multimedia in DKIT has been a great opportunity for me to express that side of my creativity and to see it grow.

The mechanical hand, which I made from aluminium alloy on a lathe and milling machine, represents my work as a fitter turner but also the mechanical, rational side of myself that I seek to move beyond when I try to create something of an artistic nature. The hand is holding a paint brush and is posed to look as if it is engaged in the act of painting a picture. The picture itself is a miniature print of a larger acrylic painting of the Marshes Shopping Centre in Dundalk I did for the Creative Design module in first year at DKIT.

The print of the painting is mounted on a miniature artist’s easel I made from aluminium alloy, cut with a hacksaw, finished by hand filing and drilled and tapped for assembly. The easel is glued onto a piece of wood which is heavily varnished. The hand is mounted on the piece of wood using a screw through a drilled hole which is counter-drilled to receive the head of the screw.

Overall I’m very happy with how this piece of work turned out. I had been considering an animation for this project but when I saw the craft-based nature of some of the previous years’ work I decided to go that route. I initially thought of making a miniature mechanical man painting an image on his chest but decided to go with the mechanical hand and seeing it finished I’m glad I went with that choice. It took about twelve hours to complete the piece but overall I think it was time well spent and the work was a nice balance to the past semester’s academic exertions.

Machinery

My workshop with lathe and milling machine used to create this piece of work.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

